In cricket, a batsman retires out if he retires without the umpire's permission, and does not have the permission of the opposition captain to resume his innings. This occasionally happens in friendly or practice matches, for instance English county sides against University Centres of Cricketing Excellence. Although it is not considered to be a dismissal in the context of a cricket match, it is considered a dismissal for the purposes of calculating a batting average.
Only two batsmen have retired out in an international cricket Test match.[1] Both instances occurred in the same match, with the Sri Lankan batsmen Marvan Atapattu and Mahela Jayawardene.[2]
|