Cost Per Mille

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CPM Cost Per Mille or cost ‰ or Cost per thousand or cost per mille (abbreviated as CPT or, more commonly, CPM). In Latin mille means thousand, therefore, CPM means cost per thousand. CPM is a commonly used measurement in advertising. Radio, television, newspaper, magazine and online advertising can be purchased on the basis of what it costs to show the ad to one thousand viewers (CPM). It is used in marketing as a benchmark to calculate the relative cost of an advertising campaign or an ad message in a given medium. Rather than an absolute cost, CPM estimates the cost per 1000 views of the ad.

[edit] Calculation

An example of computing the CPM:

  1. Total cost for running the ad is $15,000.
  2. The total audience is 2,400,000 people.
  3. The CPM is computed as CPM = $15,000 / (2,400,000 / 1000) = $6.25.

[edit] Examples

  • In online advertising, if a website sells banner ads for a $20 CPM, that means it costs $20 to show the banner on 1000 page views.
  • While the Super Bowl has the highest per-spot ad cost in the United States, it also has the most television viewers annually. Consequently, its CPM may be comparable to a less expensive spot aired during standard programming. (But the truth is that Super Bowl prices have been as much as double a regular prime-time ad, because advertisers are willing to pay to be part of 'the event' that is the Super Bowl broadcast.)

[edit] See also

  • CTR - Click-through rate
  • eCPM - Effective Cost Per Mille
  • CPT - Cost per thousand
  • CPI - Cost Per Impression
  • PPC - Pay per click
  • CPA - Cost Per Action
  • Internet marketing
  • CPC - Cost Per Click
  • eCPA - effective Cost Per Action
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