Zaikonospassky monastery

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Saviour Cathedral in 1883.
Enlarge
Saviour Cathedral in 1883.

The Zaikonospassky monastery (Заиконоспасский монастырь in Russian) is a male monastery in Kitai-gorod, Moscow, just one block away from the Kremlin.

It was founded in 1600 by Boris Godunov. At first called "Saviour the Old", the cloister gradually acquired its present quaint name which alludes to its location and means "the Saviour behind the icon shops".

Between the late 17th - early 19th centuries, the Zaikonospassky monastery was one of the enlightenment centers of Russia. In 1687-1814, it was home to the first Russian high school, called the Slavic Greek Latin Academy.

Today's architectural ensemble includes the Saviour Cathedral (originally constructed in 1660-1661; rebuilt in 1717-1720 and 1742), several 17th-century chambers and former school building (1822).

The Zaikonospassky monastery was closed after the October Revolution and later reopened as an institute of archives. There is a memorial plaque in honor of Mikhail Lomonosov, who was once a student at this cloister.



Monasteries of Moscow Moscow Coat of Arms

Andronikov | Bogoyavlensky | Chudov | Danilov | Donskoy | Krutitsy | Marfo-Mariinsky | Nikolsky | Novodevichy | Novospassky | Perervinsky | Simonov | Sretensky | Ugreshi | Voznesensky | Vysokopetrovsky | Zaikonospassky | Zlatoustovsky

In other languages